Before & After. Editing Challenge ~ Week 28.

This is my first submission for Visual Venturing’s After Before Friday Forum.  The forum’s goal is to:

“After-Before Friday posts provide an opportunity for photographers (amateur and seasoned, alike) to share their photos, and if they wish, their post-processing decisions. The photos will provide a fun “wow” factor; the post-processing descriptions, the “how.” The goal is to enjoy a behind-the-scenes look at others’ work while picking up helpful ideas along the way that each of us can use as we work with our own photos.”

So for my first attempt, I chose a train photograph that I shot last month in Atlanta. Here is the before, no edit shot.

Michelle Lunato (Before) 28

To make it have more impact I decided to do the following in Photoshop:

  • Made a new layer and desaturated that to black and white.
  • Applied a unsharp mask to that layer and bumped up the contrast.
  • Erased the train in that layer completely.
  • Created another layer in color from the original background photo.
  • Bumped up the saturation in that layer and placed it behind the black and white train tracks layer.

I was going to add some blur to the train to make it look like it was moving, but I didn’t like the way it was looking. So, I will leave that for another time.  Here is the final result.

Michelle Lunato (After) 28

To check out other bloggers submissions for week 28, click here.

12 thoughts on “Before & After. Editing Challenge ~ Week 28.

  1. Hi Nato, great results, desaturating the rail lines and gravel makes a big difference to the image. I am new to Lightroom, but it is fairly intuitive if you have been using Camera Raw you will find the transition comfortable. That said I know there is still a lot for me to learn!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The use of layers to create a selective colour image in photoshop is as easy as you said. In Lightroom it is possibly a bit simpler as it can be done with just an adjustment brush. Lightroom and Photoshop have areas where they crossover, I find that photoshop is for more heavy lifting adjustments layered on top of each other that cannot be achieved in Lightroom.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Robyn and Michelle, you’ve got to take the time with Lightroom. I love it. But I’m totally intimidated by Photoshop. I know that one day I’ll take the leap, but for now…? Michelle, I love what you accomplished with your processing. And I understood- I think- the steps you took. It really focuses the eye on the train. Great job.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. He he this is funny – I always find LR less intuitive for me than PS – perhaps it’s what you start learning on.
        Having said that, I’ve given it a bash this week and Emilio you are so right… it’s going to take time.
        I love the possibilities in LR, but I went back to PS to process my image this week 😉
        With Lightroom, I know I’m going to plod plod plod.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi, Michelle! Thanks for blogging about the After-Before Friday Forum 🙂 If you’d like, you can send me your two photos and I will post them in the upcoming ABF post this Friday, December 5th, and link back to your post. That way, others who participate in the Forum will see them as well.

    Love what you did! I’m not well versed in Photoshop (for some reason I have a mental block about layers and how to use them, but I’m trying). So I read with interest about you removing the train and then putting it back in!

    Like

    1. I just sent it around the time I published the post, so hopefully, you should see it soon. Let me know if you don’t. I LOVE Photoshop and have just started to play in Lightroom, but one day at a time. I can certainly tell you about layers though! They are fun.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

