Week Four. One Four Challenge (December).

Week four of the One Four Challenge is already here. I swear that life has sped up since I started blogging. For the last week of this challenge, I decide to do a dramatic black and white.

To get this picture, I did the following in Photoshop CS5:

  • Made a duplicate layer of the original.
    • Desaturated that layer to black and white.
    • Erased out the cloud area, and some of the trees above the bridge.
    • Bumped up the contrast and brightness.
    • Turned down the opacity so that the darker layer below could blend through.
  • Made the other layer black and white as well.
    • Turned down the curves very low. (To bring out the clouds.)
  • Merged these two layers.
  • Adjusted the brightness some more.

Week 4~December

To check out other bloggers’ One Four Challenge posts, go to Captivate Me’s blog post for this week.

Being week four, it is time to vote. As a reminder, here are the previous edits.

Which do you prefer? What would you have done that I didn’t try?

UPDATE:

Here is the version from the suggestions in the comments.

bridge edit from comments

20 thoughts on “Week Four. One Four Challenge (December).

  1. Hi Michelle – finally made it πŸ˜ƒ
    I so enjoyed reading the comments here and really like all that you’ve done with this image. I actually cant pick a favourite, but lean strongly towards 2, 3 and 4b.
    Nice work and Happy New Year πŸ˜€πŸŽ‰πŸŽˆ

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this week 4 with the dramatic sky but prefer the crop in week 2 – now if you combined the two πŸ™‚ Looking forward to seeing what you do next year.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love what you did with the cloud detail but personally it lost all the detail in the trees on the side of the bridge, its all just black splodges with no texture and no idea of what is there and it has a lot of visual weight so pulls the focus away from the rest of the image.

    Given my PS skills are very beginner stage but could you do a layer this dark for the sky and then brush thru to it just focussing on the sky to bring the detail thru without losing the rest of the image?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are exactly right! I was being lazy, lol. If I had not erased the lighter layer of the trees above the bridge, I may have got that. I tried for a bit, but it was looking overworked and bad, especially around the edges/sky. Being frustrated and pressed for time, I just erased it all above the bridge. I may need to play with it more for the sake of learning and practice.

      Like

    2. I played with it some more and made a new version taking your comments into consideration. Still needs some pizazz and detail work, but definitely looks better. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

      1. Its always a challenge when you have such extreme areas of light and dark, I see why people reach for HDR in those circumstances. Personally I have never been able to shoot a good range of exposures to get a good effect so I never use it πŸ™‚

        Look forward to your finished image with the pizazz (great word!) added πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

