AB Friday Forum. Hot Air Balloons.

For this week’s AB Friday Forum, I decided to go with a photograph from last Labor Day. No great reason as to why other than it was Wednesday night when it dawned on me that I had not even chosen a picture to edit. So, I opened up my files and this one was just the first to stand out.

The event was a hot air balloon show at Callaway Gardens. After sunset they do “balloon glows” that have become huge events. The popularity these draws quite a crowd of spectators and literally a swarm of photographers. When I went, I didn’t really think of the night photography aspect so I never bothered to bring my tripod. Let’s just say I won’t forget it this year.

Anyway, while shooting the glowing balloons from across the lake, I kept waiting for one of the balloons to light up. It never did. If it had, the editing of this would have been a lot easier to say the least. Because in that event, I could have just pulled the lit balloon over to the best photo…or just used the photograph that had them all lit to begin with, lol.

Ballons Before-Michelle Lunato PhotographyAs reality would have it though, I would need to create the appearance of a lit balloon in its place or just deal with the black space. But, the black space bothers me!

So here is what I did in Photoshop CS5:

  • Cloned one of the other balloons in the empty space. This was fairly easy as I just made the clone tool circle about as big as the balloon and “wrote” it in the empty spot. This included the reflection of the balloon as well. If you are unfamiliar with how to “write,” all that means is you select the area you want to clone and the size of your “stamp.” Then, you move over to where you want that item to be and click and drag the mouse. This “writes” or “draws” it into that space. You will see a small cross in the area you are copying as a guide to what section is being copied as you move.
  • Tried to lasso my newly created balloon to change the hue of it slightly so it didn’t look like a mirror of the one I just cloned.
  • Cropped the photo to a more rectangular frame to remove some of the empty space.
  • Enhanced the brightness and contrast of the overall photograph.Balloons After Michelle Lunato Photography

I cannot say I was overly thrilled with this, but I didn’t spend a lot of time on it either. So, it kind of reflects my so-so effort at the time. Hopefully, it can give you an idea on how to clone a portion of a photo though.

If you are not part of the AB Friday Forum, make sure you check out Stacy’s blog, Visual Venturing. She posts some great information, amazing photos and includes all the links and photos of all the bloggers in the challenge. Just click on the badge and join the fun.

abfriday-one-photo-focus

16 thoughts on “AB Friday Forum. Hot Air Balloons.

  1. Ha! Michelle, what an inspired edit 😀 Like others, I never would have guessed (which, of course, means you did an excellent job). I’m certainly familiar with PS cloning and use it readily to remove objects, but I’m not sure I’ve ever used it to create objects – what a great ahah moment! So thanks for sharing that. Really terrific edit, fun post, and I have to say I love the jack-o-lantern balloon the best 🎃😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a great event. Spent all day and night there. They have bands, a car show, gardens and a beach. It’s like a year’s worth of posting material in one day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

