Week Two. One Four Challenge (March).

It is time for week two of the One Four Challenge photo for March. If you are unfamiliar with the challenge, which is hosted by Robyn at Captivate Me, make sure you check it out.

Basically, photographers of all levels are challenged to take one photo and edit it in four different ways over the month. Your edits can be subtle or dramatic. Your photo, your choice.

Here is my original iPhone photo.

March ~ Original

For week two, I played around some, but it was a quick edit as I just returned from vacation and was pressed for time. (Hence, why my challenge picture is coming at night instead of the morning. Oh, the struggles of catching up after a vacation!)

For this edit, I did the following in Photoshop CS5:

  • Applied the HDR toning effect, where I turned down the details and curves.
  • Created another layer of the photo.
  • Enhanced the colors of the bottom layer in the selective color tool, which is under adjustments.
  • Placed a radial blur of the top photo layer and then turned down its opacity.
  • Erased out parts of the blurred layer over the flower so that the center was in focus more than the outer parts.

week two

I think those were the main points. What do you think? Would do you suggest? Feel free to suggest ideas. I love hearing others view points as it is always nice to “see” from someone else’s eyes.

Make sure you check out other challenge submissions by searching ‘one four challenge’ in the reader and of course, go to the host blog for this week.

onefourchallenge

19 thoughts on “Week Two. One Four Challenge (March).

    1. Thank you. I may see if I can touch this edit up today. I was in a hurry and a bit sloppy when I did this one. I’m off work today but do have 1000 errands to do. Including shooting some sunrise pics right now:)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hee hee.. Well hope you had the best time on holidays!!
    I love the idea here and agree about the centre sharpness, but great job for a 10pm edit 😜
    Such a versatile flower – I felt like I hadnt seen it before. Love the variety!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I posted on my other blog, not here. Yeah, I’ll need to dork harder this week but I have seven straight days of work. Welcome back! Lol. I do get Monday off, so maybe I can at least sit down for a few minutes more, and before 10:)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks:) yeah, I usually have posts ready to post for a day or two out, but now, I’m winging it. But hey, last week while I was vacationing, I scheduled out posts for the whole week! Whoo hoo! Now, I just need to get back into my groove…and unpack.

      Like

Leave a Reply

