AB Friday. Creating an Abstract of Flowers.

For this week’s AB Friday, I thought I would continue on my flower week theme that I have apparently started. I am completely off on my posting schedule and winging it on whatever I feel like posting. I guess some weeks you just have to go with the flow.

On Wednesday night I realized I still had not sent in a picture for this week’s AB Friday. So the first picture that caught my eye was this picture from last Easter. I don’t even think these were MY flowers. I think I photographed them in passing at the grocery store.

Anyway, I was in a mood of wacky and dramatic so I decided to do an abstract edit on the picture. Let me see if I can remember what I did as there has been two days since I did the editing. I believe I did the following steps in Photoshop CS5:

  • Applied the polar effect, which is under the distort options.
  • Applied the paint daub filter.
  • Applied the HDR option so I could reduce the details and make a softer look.
  • Enhanced the saturation to very bold and dramatic.

What do you like or not like? What would you have done differently? No worries on hurting my feelings. I realize that abstracts are not for everyone. And, it is nice to hear different opinions and ideas. It is the only way to learn, and I certainly will never claim to know it all. Heck, I don’t even know a fourth most of the time.

If you are not part of the AB Friday Forum, make sure you check out the host of the challenge, Stacy at Visual Venturing. It is a great group of photographers! Stacy always has some great post on what she has edited and then she shows all the before and afters of all the contributors (with links to their posts). Just click on the badge to be inspired:)

after-before-friday-post-header2

 

 

14 thoughts on “AB Friday. Creating an Abstract of Flowers.

  1. Wow, Michelle, your technique reminds me a bit of the Edvard Munch artwork ‘The Scream’ – but with the twist of joyful, happy colors. Such an interesting juxtaposition. I love what you do with your abstracts! More, please 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Michelle, very nice transformation. I agree with Emilio, it does convey a sadness, but ironically with joyful colors. Not that this is a bad thing, especially when it works. And, as Emilio says, it would be interesting to see it when you find yourself in a happy mood on a Wednesday night, staring at Stacy’s deadline.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s funny how it worked out. Cuz I didn’t think it looked sad until next day and thought….Hhmmm, that looks like a happy depressed blob, lol. And well, it does. I’ll see what I can do next week.

      Like

  3. I love what you did. But to me, even though the colors are bright, the image makes me sad- possibly because all the colors are downward flowing. Or probably that’s just my mood right now. Either way, I’d love to see more of these experiments. Very interesting and exciting. (Can one be sad, yet excited?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Funny you say that. Very perceptive. I was sad when I made it and I think it reflected how I felt. Therefore, when I got the look that matched my mood, I decided I like it. At least that’s what I realized after when looking at it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

