AB Friday. Fixing Wind Blown Hair.

A wedding photographer has many challenges. One that frustrates me is wind. Sometimes it can add a graceful elegance to your photos. Other times, it just messes them up.

This last weekend, I was helping a friend shoot a wedding as her assistant. We had the bride out by the pond. There was great light and a light breeze. Then, once we got the bride posed, the wind shifted ever so slight making her hair blow in her face. As the assistant, I kept tucking her hair back, but to no avail, it kept going in her face.

Here is one of the shots I got in between tucking hair behind her ears.

B4 Michelle Lunato 29 May

I really like the composition of the photo and the lighting. However, I didn’t like the hair going across her face and under her nose. So, I thought I would try to Photoshop it out. Erasing is the easy part though. Recreating what is supposed to be in the place of the hair is a little more challenging though.

DSC_2393

I tried to recreate her jaw line, skin and lips that were covered up by the hair with the clone tool. This could have been easier had I taken a photo similar to this pose, but unfortunately I did not. In the other shots, she is smiling and therefore her face and lips have a different shape. So I did the best I could with my skills. I cloned skin tones and blended them. I was not quite happy with her lips though as they still looked a bit distorted. So I made the photo black and white and adjusted the brightness and contrast to basically mask it some since I was afraid to over work it.

After doing all of this, I noticed the crease of skin above her dress line from the way she is turned. As a girl, I know I would want this fixed so I gently erased the line. That, I was pleased with.

All of this is my submission for the After Before Friday Forum for this week. The challenge, which is hosted by Stacy at Visual Venturing, has photographers show a before and after shot of their work. Their edit can be dramatic or subtle. Their picture. Their choice.

If you are not familiar with the challenge, just click on the badge below to check out Stacy’s post this week. It is a great community of photographers that I am so glad I found. 🙂

after-before-friday-post-header2

12 thoughts on “AB Friday. Fixing Wind Blown Hair.

    1. Thanks Cardinal. Your opinion means a lot. I suppose there is something to be appreciated for a natural, unedited moment in the wind. I think at times I purposely look for things to fix in my pictures and sometimes, leaving it alone may be the best thing.

      Like

  1. I think you did a great Michelle. The black and white is a classic look that you can’t go wrong with when shooting weddings. I find the highlights a bit too much for my taste but think I now understand why you went that route. Great job on the jaw line, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Yeah, I tried to hide the so-so cloning. Getting cloning down could pay off eventually. I cannot tell you how many times I would hear, “Can you Photoshop that?” at a wedding or sorority event.

      Like

  2. You really did a great job with a difficult “before” problem, Michelle. And I agree that converting it to black and white helped to mask the niggling imperfections that were left. Beautiful bride. And, by the way, we’re so glad you found us too! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It looks beautiful in black and white, you have got a lovely contrast. The area around her mouth looks very hard to edit, I think you’ve done a much better job than I could have! Its a lovely composition too. Nice work Michelle! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

