Week Four. One Four Challenge (July).

It’s Week Four of the One Four Challenge! And since I didn’t look at the calendar properly, this is my fifth edit on this iPhone picture I took while in Jamaica.

So it took me a minute to think about what I could do that I had not tried yet. After some thought, I decided to go with a sepia look, but with some added flavor. Here is the final result below.

Week 4 July 1-4

To get this look, here are the steps I took in Photoshop CS5:

  • Cropped the photo.
  • Added the Graphic Pen filter.
  • Applied a sepia filter to the photo.
  • Turned the opacity down on the sepia layer to about 40 percent.
  • Left a overly saturated layer of the photo under the sepia just to add a hint of color in the clouds.

What are your thoughts on this edit? Feel free to comment honestly. I don’t really get hurt feelings easily and figure honest comments are the best way to learn.

Now, as a reminder, here are the rest of the edits for the month. Which is your favorite?

 

 

onefourchallengeMake sure you click on the badge to see the One Four Challenge host page, Captivate Me. You can also search OneFourChallenge in the reader to find several other contributors.

17 thoughts on “Week Four. One Four Challenge (July).

          1. Yeah I get a lot of those too, esp now when Im trying completely new things in PS. But every failure is a learning experience so not a waste of time at all!

            Liked by 1 person

      1. If it was me I would have taken week one and made a new copy just brightening the details in the lamp and foreground. Then I would have merged the two images together, preserving the sky and having a slightly more detailed foreground.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

