AB Forum. Making a Church Portrait.

 

 

Just last week I traveled to Birmingham, Alabama and found I had some free time. So instead of heading home early, I decided it was a wonderful opportunity to wander the city in search of photo worthy subjects. The first thing I decided to photograph was this wonderful church. I am drawn to elaborate and elegant architecture, so this one made me stop. I took a number of photos with my Nikon, but this particular shot was with my iPhone as I wanted to send a shot to my boyfriend saying, “Look what I found!” (Yes, he knows I am a photo geek so he totally expects random pictures.)

For this week’s After Before Forum, I decided to do my editing in my iPhone app, Camera+. I would like to say this was a strategic, thought-out plan. However, it was really the mere fact that I realized I had forgot to send my After Before photo once I had already left my house where my laptop and photo files were. So, Plan B kicked in. Send a photo from my phone. Bam! Mission accomplished.

If you are interested in the editing process and the app, here are some of the steps I took from the original photograph below.

  • IMG_5706Sent the photo that was in my camera roll to the Camera+ app.
    • Hit the plus icon that is on the top right of the opening screen.
    • Select the photo I want to edit and hit “import.”
  • Select the “edit” option on the imported photo.

At that point, there are a number of options you can play with. From the basics of cropping, saturation, exposure and contrast to more elaborate editing like filters, frames, focus/highlight/shadow adjustments and tilt adjustments.

For this photo I simple added more contrast and saturation. Then enhanced the highlight details and added a black frame.

IMG_5707

I felt like playing around a bit more, so I tried a black and white option with a more dramatic frame.

IMG_5709

Which version do you prefer more?

Now, if you are wondering about the photo credit, that was done via another app called iWatermark. To add your logo/name on your phone phones, the steps are fairly simple.

  • Open the app.
  • Hit the “Select Photo(s)” button.
  • Choose the photo you want to put a watermark on.
  • The photo opens in the app and you then select the “Watermark Photo” button.
  • The last watermark show on your photo in the last position you used.
    • If you want to change the position, you simple click and drag the watermark around to where you want it.
    • If you want to select, create or edit a watermark, click on the “Watermarks” button on the bottom center of the screen. This will open all the watermark options you have made.
  • Once you are happy with how the watermark looks on your photography, you hit save. At this point you can save it to your camera roll, email the pic or upload it from their to your choice of social media.

For the black and white version, I had to reapply the watermark since the black frame covered the original one. So lesson learned. Do all your editing first, and then apply the watermark.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To check out other bloggers’ submissions for this week’s After Before Forum, click here. This week’s forum is being hosted by Loré at Snow’s Fissures and Fractures since Stacy at Visual Venturing is off living life. (Have fun Stacy!) But, she did schedule a post to show us the One Photo Focus for September! Click here to check it out and join the fun:)

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “AB Forum. Making a Church Portrait.

  1. Hi, Michelle! What fun to learn about your process with your iPhone! Beautiful church, and the black and white comes out a bit ahead for me – I love all the textures and tones and that’s where my eye is drawn, instead of to the bright blue sky or the green foliage. I purchased iWatermark a bit ago and used it a few times, but haven’t used it in a while – you’ve reminded me I should start to use it again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice edits Michelle! Black and white for me! Thanks for sharing about the iWatermark, I’ll look that one up. Have you tried Snapseed? That’s a good iPhone pic editor, you can do selective editing too (and it’s free!) have a good weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

