Week One. One Four Challenge (September).

Welcome back to the One Four Challenge! The month-long break is over and it is time to get back to editing. For September’s challenge, I decided to go with a picture of a boat that sits downtown in the fishing town of Apalachicola, Florida.

Here is the original:

original

For the first edit of the month, I decided to make the photo a bit more dramatic. To get this look, I basically desaturated the photo slightly over 50 percent and then pushed up the contrast by 60 percent. For an added touch, I decreased the details, or focus, some to give the photo a softer look.

Here is the end result:

Week 1

What do you think? What would you recommend?

Feel free to comment and critique. I don’t get my feelings hurt easily but rather enjoy honest feedback and ideas. I find it the best way to learn new things and gauge what draws others’ attention.

Make sure you check out the host of the One Four Challenge. Robyn always has some great information and some amazing photography. For this week’s edit, just click here.

onefourchallenge

27 thoughts on “Week One. One Four Challenge (September).

  1. I like the treatment, tho the top RH corner sky is so blown out it merges a bit with the boat, some more contrast needed there – the Bleached Bypass in Nik Silver Efex would work really nicely here I suspect – or a water colour paint version too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, good point on the sky. Funny how we miss things with our own eyes. I’ll have to look that program up. I’ve heard it mentioned before. And a water color? Good ideas!

      Like

        1. Well, it sounds like I need to try both. I am in need of a new computer/software and camera soon. So I need to start getting ideas and playing with demos. The sucky part is just paying for it all of course.

          Like

            1. I think I just may need to try some demos from the sounds of it. Research and patience paid off when I got my car, so I may as well start the same with my camera/photo gear. No sense in waiting till the last minute and then having to make a rushed and costly decision.

              Like

              1. Sounds like a plan, Im a bit OCD when it comes to research esp as everything is so much more expensive here in NZ, so I have to if I am going to spend my money well. So far it has paid off – good luck, I work in IT so you want advice around PC happy to discuss and bounce ideas around

                Liked by 1 person

                1. If love some IT advice. I’ve been lucky to have a variety of work and personal computers/cameras to play with over the years. It seems like the Mac is friendly to photography but, is that really true? Writing and photography would be the main work on a new computer. So lots of memory or ability for external storage would work too.

                  Like

  2. This picture feels like it has been through a bleach by pass effect. I think I would have liked some really strong detail to match the toning. I am not sure where I would go next except black and white, as it is a must do with this challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oooohh – good point. Some strong details could have brought a nice element to the saturation. Thanks for the feedback Ben. I think I am on a soft detail kick these days.

      Like

  3. Hi Michelle and welcome back 🙂
    What a beaut subject to work with this month! The treatment is great! It gives the old boat, a tired worn feeling.
    Very effective I think 😀 Will look forward to the next weeks to see what you do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

