Week Two. One Four Challenge (September).

Greetings! It’s week two of the One Four Challenge. After trying a partially desaturated look for week one of the challenge, I thought I may as well go totally black and white this week.

The edits were fairly quick and easy too. This particular photo was taken with my Nikon in raw. So when opening the raw photo in Camera Raw, you can simply slide the saturation to negative 100. You can also slide other factors like blacks, contrast, fill light and brightness around for quick edits as well.

Screen Shot 2015-09-14 at 2.23.36 PM

Last week, I did a softer clarity option to give it a more dreamy look. However, this week, I decided to bump up the clarity to plus 78. I think I probably should have tried the soft dreamy look with the black and white and the over-sharp focus with the partially desaturated look of last week, but this is the path I am on now, so here goes.

Sept Week 2

After those adjustments in Camera Raw, I tried to think about what I was going to do to the blown out sky on the top right of the picture. I thought about adding some clouds, but was pressed for time, so for this week, that is just where I added my photocredit line.

What do you think? What would you do differently?

If you are not familiar with the One Four Challenge, you should be. It is tons of fun even if you are not an official photographer. Simply put, it is about editing one picture four different ways over a month. Check out the host blog, Captivate Me, for more details and to see Robyn’s post for week two.

To add a little spice to this month, Robyn and Emilio are teaming up to combine/swap their photos and create something special for week four. Sounds fun! If someone wants to join me, please let me know:)

onefourchallenge

9 thoughts on “Week Two. One Four Challenge (September).

    1. It was definitely gritty and old. I wish there was a sign or something telling the story of this old boat. Clearly it had one as it was on the corner of the town block. Of course, it was a fishing town, but I assume there is more to this boat other than it is a boat in a town known for fishing. Or…maybe not?

      Like

Leave a Reply

