Week Three. One Four Challenge (September).

Welcome to Week Three of the One Four Challenge! This week, I tried something a bit different and dramatic. But hey, you don’t learn if you don’t take risks, right?

For this edit, I took my raw photo and tweaked the settings some in no particular format or goal. I wasn’t sure where I was headed on this so I just pushed the settings around until I liked it.

Screen Shot 2015-09-20 at 5.08.49 PM

This seemed similar to Week One, so I went to the filter gallery in Photoshop CS5. There, I selected the Colored Pencil filter with the following settings:

  • Pencil Width: 15
  • Stroke Pressure: 13
  • Paper Brigtness: 20

It was a little dark and tad dull for my tastes so I bumped up the curves and saturation. Then added some contrast and this is where I stopped.

Week 3

It is a bit cartoony, but it is different and something that I have not tried exactly. I did recently try some black and white “drawing” conversion on a picture for the AB Friday Forum. So, this is a bit similar, but in color and a different path entirely to get a somewhat like result.

Since the entire purpose of the challenge is to edit one photo four different ways of the month so that you can learn or share information, I figured, I may as well try something new. What do you think? What would you have tried with this? Like? Don’t like? Feel free to comment and make suggestions. I swear I don’t get my feelings hurt easily. I actually like the candid feedback for the sake of knowledge, so comment away.

Make sure you check out the One Four Challenge host, Captivate Me, to see Robyn’s Week Three post too. She is a gracious host of this popular challenge and her work is definitely worth the time to see.

onefourchallenge

2 thoughts on “Week Three. One Four Challenge (September).

  1. Hey Michelle – can’t believe I’m so late in replying. Made it with my apologies in tow.
    Wow!! I really like that you’ve played with this – I’ve never seen the temp up that high. Must try it sometime too.
    Quite like your CR version with the reds and greens and your final edit is kinda mind blowing. Fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

