Week One. One Four Challenge (October).

It’s Week One of October and time for the One Four Challenge. The challenge, which is hosted by Robyn at Captivate Me, is where photographers take one of their pictures and edit four ways over the month. The goal is to share the editing process with others and learn a little along the way.

For this month, I decided to go with a picture I took a few months ago a Callaway Gardens, which I adore visiting when I can. This is just one of many shots I took that day as they have endless scenic opportunities there. However, we will just start with one picture. Endless pictures can be a bit overwhelming, lol. Below is the original RAW photo with no editing.

Original ~ OctoberIn RAW, I did a few adjustments as you can see in the screen shot below. Nothing major, but just a few tweaks to give the picture a touch of pizazz and oomph.

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 6.23.39 PMAfter that, I opened the photo as a JPEG in Photoshop CS5, where I just boosted the contrast and brightness. The end result is below. A short, sweet and simple edit for Week One, but an overall improvement of the photo I think. What are your thoughts? Feel free to comment as I enjoy honest feedback. I find that it allows for better learning.

Week 1Oct

To see other submissions to the challenge, just search One Four Challenge in the reader. Also make sure you check out Robyn’s post for this week by clicking on the badge below.  onefourchallenge

Thanks for visiting!

14 thoughts on “Week One. One Four Challenge (October).

  1. Nice job and its a good shot of the petal colour and texture. If it was me I would crop the RH side a bit, there is another stem on that side that makes quite a strong line, I would remove that and it might balance a bit better too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! You know when I first looked at the picture, I thought it was a tulip. But now that you mention it, it does not have that tulip texture. Poppy. Yeah, I think you are so right! I really need to learn some of the things I photograph so I can name them correctly, lol!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

