Week Two. One Four Challenge (October).

Week Two of the One Four Challenge is here. So it is time to see what I can come up with.

During Week One, Learning to See Light suggested a tighter crop to rid the photo of the distracting stem on the right side of the photo. They also mentioned maybe a watercolour or painted look. Hey there! Thanks for the idea! So here goes…

As a reminder, here is the original photo so you can see the stem on the right-hand side of the photo that is kind of distracting.

Original ~ October

I took the photo and cropped the stem out. Then I went into the filter gallery in Photoshop CS5. I selected the Paint Daubs option and Sparkle brush under that filter. (See below.)

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 9.06.32 PM

I like the swirl and gave the leaves, except now the stem right next to the flower was distracting. That was a little too close to crop. So I tried to liquify the stem some with the…well, the liquify tool, lol. (Which is under the filter tab in Photoshop.) The result I got is below.

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 9.09.20 PM

It is almost like I made it even more noticeable, but I didn’t give up. I then tried to use the smudge tool in the tool palette and then followed that up with the blur tool. I just took those two tools and went back and forth over the stem in a random pattern. It still needed a touch more, so I used the clone tool to make some of the sparkly look go over the stem. That seemed to work.

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 9.11.40 PM

Then I decided to play with the selective colors of the flower. Selective color is an option under the Image tab and then under the Adjustments option. The first color I enhanced was the reds. (See the numbers below for amounts.)

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 9.13.42 PM

Then I adjusted the magentas as well.Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 9.14.25 PM

That all seemed to work for me and I was done and here is the final result.

week 2

What do you think? Any ideas you would like to see?

Make sure you check out One Four Challenge in the reader and click on the badge below to see the host blog, Captivate Me.

onefourchallenge

14 thoughts on “Week Two. One Four Challenge (October).

  1. I like how you walked us through your process of getting rid of the second stem, and it turned out great – now it looks like the texture in the background and pushed the tulip more into focus. I also like how you upped the reds and magentas it really has pop. Also, I agree with CoolQuilting that the tulip looks like tissue paper. Great edit. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michelle, I really like your process of steps this week to achieve your end result.
    Don’t know what I would do next, although I think it might be beautiful in a soft BW.
    Look forward to seeing what you decide. Again, gorgeous subject!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks again Robyn. It was fun to play around with this option. It doesn’t always work for all photos so I am glad it did for this one. Black in white is definitely on the agenda for next week. Sssssshhh Secret. It is already ready and scheduled since I pick up family at the airport today. There will be no blogging for the weekend. Only Octoberfest and family fun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

