Week One. One Four Challenge (November).

For Week One of the One Four Challenge, which is a challenge where you edit one picture four different ways, I started with this original shot.

Originalsmall

These little wild tomatoes (At least I assume they are tomatoes – or does some one recognize them as something else?) caught my eye as they were in the river bed. Of course, I had to get down on my knees among the weeds to photograph them. The things we do for pictures.

For my first edit, I wanted to change the color to red, so they really did look like cherry tomatoes. To do this, I went to the Image tab in Photoshop CS5. Then, under adjustments, I chose the selective color option. From there, I tweaked the yellows to make those more red by adjusting the yellow levels to what you see below.

Screen Shot 2015-11-02 at 8.15.48 PM

After that, I decided to give it a little more punch and pop. So I went to the Image tab, then Adjustments and the HDR Toning option. I played with the levels that you see below.
Screen Shot 2015-11-02 at 8.17.14 PM

The end result was a definite change in color and a more vidid pop of the main subject of the picture.

Week 1

So what do you think? What would you try differently? Feel free to comment openly. I find feedback a great way to get new ideas and learn.

The host blog, Captivate Me, is taking a break this month, so the November One Four Challenge is currently being hosted by Nic. So make sure you check out her Week One post here.

There are tons of other bloggers participating in the challenge as well. All you have to do is search One Four Challenge in the reader and a good long list will come up.

Have a great month you all, and I will see you next week with another edit on these little wonders.

onefourchallenge

10 thoughts on “Week One. One Four Challenge (November).

  1. I agree on the crop, and that black dead bit in the foreground might be removable? Great job on the colour adjustment – you can use masks to paint it in just on the tomatoes, leaving the rest of the image unchanged.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s pretty cool changing the yellow tomatoes (?) to red ones…. since you are asking for ideas… I did notice that the yellow in the leaves changed to a more reddish tone too — perhaps mask out the leaves and retain their yellowiness? Or maybe make the leaves more green? Just ideas. Overall the pop of contrast and the color shift is really nice, great job. Looking forward to what you do to future edits. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a good point. I do need to learn how to do the selective color in a more “selective” way. That would really up my editing skills. Good catch and info. I appreciate it Nic!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

