Week Three. One Four Challenge (November).

Week Three of the One Four Challenge made me work some, and learn. After some comments in Week Two, I decided to try a few things.

The first step (after making another layered copy of the photo) was to remove the deal leaf that was to the left of the green stem. (See the original photo below.)

OriginalsmallTo remove it, I had to use the clone tool, a lot. With such a plain and blurred background, it was easy though since it was essentially just blending the grey and brown colors. The cloning result is here.Then I decided to tone down the black spot on the bottom right side of the photo. Again, it was just more cloning, but with a mix of the Dodge and Blur tools as well.

Screen Shot 2015-11-14 at 11.37.53 AMMy next goal was to play with the colors of the tomatoes again. This time, I decided to use the Quick Selection Tool in Photoshop CS. I can’t say that I have ever used this tool. It is similar to the lasso and the magic lasso but was more of one click and the tomato was highlighted.

Screen Shot 2015-11-14 at 11.53.18 AM

 

Once I selected each tomato, I used both the Hue/Saturation tool and the Selective Color option (under adjustments). So for three of the tomatoes, I played with the colors. As you see in the below two pictures, I made one more orange and another more green.

When I got to the third tomato, the one I made red, I had to do more work. As you can see on the left side of the tomato, the Quick Selection tool did got a little confused on where the edge of that tomato was.

Screen Shot 2015-11-14 at 12.04.44 PM

At a closer view, you can see the unnatural edge it created.

No worries though. With some clone stamping, I was able to work it back into a somewhat more normal looking shape.

After all that, I just did some overall brightness and contrast adjustments with a few clone stamp touch ups. Below, is the final result.

Week 3

What do you think? Recommend? Suggest? Like? Don’t like? Feel free to comment, I find it a great way to learn.

To see other One Four Challenge posts, just search for it in the reader. However, make sure you check out Nic’s post this week as she is hosting the November challenge for Robyn, the creator of the One Four Challenge craze.

17 thoughts on “Week Three. One Four Challenge (November).

    1. LOL, 30 years is a long time! You got this. It just takes patience and time, which sometimes I don’t want to give. But, some things are easy to clone out while others is way too hard for me. Like making people skinny, I can’t do that yet. Heck, I can’t even make myself skinny without Photoshop!

      Like

  1. Great job removing that dead leaf. The selection tool and orange made that front tomato look more realistic, too. Overall, it looks great! 😀 What do you have in mind for next week?

    Like

    1. I was happier with the front tomato. Still trying to grasp masks, not sure if I understand them or if they are just layers on top of layers. At the moment, I am not sure. Maybe an abstract?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I thought about my explanation of masks and wanted to improve upon it…. As you know, layers are like opaque sheets of paper that can be made semi-transparent through blending modes. Masks are added to layers to hide or reveal the changes you’ve made on a layer. A White Mask would be everything you’ve changed gets changed, A Black Mask nothing gets changed at all… white reveals, black conceals (which you can also remember by thinking of lighting a room… turn on a light and you see, turn off the light and you don’t). When you change the opacity of the brush you are using (you paint black or white onto your mask) you are actually painting a shade of grey. So you can control how much you reveal or conceal with opacity of your brush (or various shades of grey). Masks are really useful because if you make a mistake using the Eraser tool, you can’t fix it easily… but with a mask you can just use the opposite color to fix any mistakes. Also, you can change the hardness or softness of the brush to give edges a crisp edge or a blurred edge. Sometimes I use the airbrush tool to lightly conceal or reveal, as well. As far as I know, you can add a mask to any layer, which can give you lots of control. I hope this helps. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

