Week Four. One Four Challenge (November).

Week Four of the One Four Challenge is always the hardest. After editing one photograph three times already, I am usually thinking…what can I do now. So, for this month, I thought I would make an “arty” edit.

Inside of starting with the original this week, I started with Week Three’s edit.

Week 3

Next, I opened up the filter gallery in Photoshop CS5 to see where I could go. First, I started with the Paint Daubs filter, which I seem to really like and use often. I particularly like the Sparkle option under that filter. If you look at the screen shot, you can see the the brush size, sharpness and brush type can be adjusted individually.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.56.00 AM

Paint Daubs Filter

To add another filter layer, all you have to do is click on the box that is to the left of the trash can icon. (See the bottom right of the screen shot.) The next filter I addd was the Smudge Stick Filter. The shot below is how that filter looked on the tomato picture when NOT combined with the previous Paint Daubs Filter.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.56.32 AM

Smudge Stick Filter

For more effect, I added one more filter to the photo. This time, I added the Rough Pastel Filter. The shot below is what that filter looks like when NOT combined with either of the two previous filters. Again, like the other filters, Rough Pastels has some options to tweak. You can control the stroke length and detail and a variety of texture options.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.56.17 AM

Rough Pastels Filter

To see each individual filter, you simply turn off the other filter layers by clicking the eye icon that is to the left of the filter layer name. (See middle right of the screen shot above.)

For this edit, I have three filters merged onto one photo. This is where the option of seeing the filters together is nice. Below are a series of shots where only two of the three filters are visible. You can click them on and off and tweak each filter until you get the result you desire.

In this shot, the Smudge Stick and Rough Pastel filters are visible.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.57.16 AM

Smudge Stick and Rough Pastels together

In this shot, the Rough Pastels and the Paint Daubs are on the photo.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.56.54 AM

Rough Pastels and Paint Daubs

In this shot, the Smudge Stick and Paint Daubs filters are visible, but the Rough Pastels is turned off.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.57.34 AM

Smudge Stick and Paint Daubs together

I played around with these to see which filters I liked together and their settings. The shots above are the ones I decided on though. But, perhaps you want to change one of the filters. You can do that very easily. All you have to do is click on the filter layer you want to change. It will be highlighted in dark gray, like the shot above shows Paint Daubs is selected (with the Smudge Stick filter showing too since the eye icon is show). While that filter is selected, you can just go to the filter option boxes, and pick another one. The one you select will replace the filter you have open to edit (the grayed layer).

If you want to delete one of the layers completely, you just click the trash can icon. (See the screen shots above that show it in the bottom right corner.)

After all of that playing, I decided to intensify the colors. Therefore I opened up the Hue/Saturation Tool and made things a bit more dramatic.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 7.03.22 AM

The result of all of that was more of an artsy look than the weeks before.

Week 4

What do you think? Is there an option that you would have avoided? Or, are there two filters that you liked merged together without the third?

Since this is week four, I will also layout the previous weeks. Look below and decide which edit do you prefer the most?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Don’t forget to check out Nic’s Week Four post too. She has been host the challenge for Robyn this month and doing a great job!

25 thoughts on “Week Four. One Four Challenge (November).

  1. Hi Michelle! Thank you for visiting and liking my blog thingsunderstood.wordpress.com. I love your photos and the style and color that you put into them. This particular blog entry has been very helpful as I have been wondering how to create this effect for a long time. Thank you so much for describing the “how to” so clearly. Please drop by my blog again soon and see what is new. 🙂 Jacqueline

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a lot of learning went on this month and the progress along with it 🙂 Personally the very long diagonal pencil sketch isnt my thing, it looks like heavy rain to my odd little brain but I love that you went in a creative direction here 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can respect that. There are some filters that I tried that I thought, well now, who would like that. I guess that is why there are probably endless options to choose from, especially when combined. Everyone can’t like the same things. However, finding techniques that appeal to a majority is probably a good thing too. Well, if your trying to sell your work that is. Good thing my goal here is just learning and expanding my portfolio:)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. In the photoshop course I am doing the tutor reiterates “do what you like, don’t try to make your art for other people”. There is a certain merit in that but also in the “what other people like will sell to them”. Its good to have a safe space to experiment and learn 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It makes sense to do what you like. That is where passion and creativity flow I would think. However, if your goal is sales and your creativity is not what sells…I guess you should either adjust or just get pure joy in the creative results. For me, I am just enjoying the fun and practice for now. I do some paid photography gigs here and there, but it is not my main job anymore. I do miss working in that field full time though.

          Like

          1. Lots of people say to me I should do photography full time. Yet I think if it was my job it would lose that lustre of fun and excitement that it currently has – now its a treat to plan holidays and outings around.

            If I could guarantee a GOOD income off it maybe, but thats not likely to happen anytime soon!

            Liked by 2 people

  3. Great tutorial, Michelle! 😀 I love how each week you took our suggestions and learned a little more while getting great results. I think my favorite is week 3, but I do like the direction you took the image this week as well. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I figured I should start using the feedback I get and try it. You all mention some great things and I am trying to advance my technical abilities, so it is a win-win to try the things you all mention. And, I am learning in the process. Added bonus, a few people even learned some things from my learning! lol-that is some knowledge circles alright!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow! Thanks for your comment. That means a lot coming from you. I look at your edits and think….how in the heck….wow, if only I could…did she use magic….. Who knew tomatoes could be so “arty.”

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! One of my main goals of starting my photo blog was to increase my technical skills. I know what I want out of a photo and can generally get good shot, sometimes even great. However, I think I could be dangerous if I could do some fine tune manipulating with the camera and editing. And one way I seem to learn lately has been to try these things and write out how I did them. So, I am glad someone finds the details good, lol. Now, if I could just figure out some of the other blogs that are way more technical!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

