One Photo Focus. Creating a Painting (December).

Time for One Photo Focus, a challenge where several photographers edit the same picture. This month’s challenge, which is hosted by Stacy Fisher at Visual Venturing, is featuring a shot taken by Julie Powell Photography.

Julie Powell December One Photo FOcus

I seem to be on a trend of making “paintings” or abstracts these days, so I thought I would play with Julie’s photo along those lines.

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 6.26.02 AMMy first step was to open the jpeg in Photoshop CS5. To start my drawing look, I decided to go with these steps:

  • Color dodge, which is a drop down option when you are looking at the layers.
  • Control/Command “I” to invert the colors
  • Gaussian Blur of about 50

 

These three steps gave me this look:

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 6.20.49 AM

I like this for the sake of going artsy, but I wanted to play a bit more. So, my next step was to open up the filter gallery. For this, I was using a copy of the original photo in a layer and not the layer I just did the effect above on.

In the gallery, you can select different filters by picking the squares in the middle of the screen. The effect will display on your photo on the left side. To add and merge more than one filter to your photo, you can go to the square icon (on the bottom right of the screen) that is to the left of the trashcan icon. This lets you use more than one layer at a time.

For my editing, I chose to use the Paint Daubs filter and the Poster Edges filter. Below is the look that I got with those to options merged.

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 5.59.44 AMBack at the layers screen, I moved the color dodge layer to the top and turned down its opacity. This allowed the filters from above to be seen through the color dodge layer.

I didn’t really like the look completely though. So, I turned the opacity back up and decided to erase out the color dodge layer but only where the main flower is. This allows the layer below to show, but only in the area I erased in the layer above. So, when looking at this layer only, it looks like this:

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 6.03.43 AM

In this shot, you can see what the one layer that has the two merge filters on it. The color dodge layer is turned off by clicking the eye that is to the left of the layer name.Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 6.03.53 AM

Once I turned the layers both on, I tweaked the saturation of the color dodge layer some.

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 6.03.11 AM

Once that was done, I had this look, which was artsy enough for me at the time.

1PF MLunatoDEC

But, just for fun, I wanted to see what a black and white version of this would look like. So, here is that option too.

1PF MLunatoDEC BW

Frankly, I kind of like them both. Which do you prefer? Or, what would you suggest?

To check out other edit’s on this photo, make sure you click on the badge below. It will take you to Stacy’s One Photo Focus for December.

abfriday-one-photo-focus

 

22 thoughts on “One Photo Focus. Creating a Painting (December).

        1. It is making me learn that is the truth. I am not a very technical shooter. I am just fortunate to know what I like. However, if I could increase my knowledge, I could do so much more. That is one of the main reasons I started photo blogging. And what a wonderful surprise to find that bloggers are so nice and helpful! I wish I had started sooner.

          Like

            1. It has been fun learning new things. I have the feeling that there is always more to learn though, like you can never have all the knowledge-especially as things advance.

              Like

Leave a Reply

