Cypress. Regal Antiques of the Spring.

Just this weekend, I traveled to Wakulla Springs in Florida. I can’t say I knew that such a place existed before. However, now that I do, I want to see more.

What an interesting place to say the least. The swap was full of animal life and stunning trees. What caught my attention the most though were the cypress trees. They were so grand. The tour guide explained that some of these trees were antiques as well, with some dating back over 1000 years.

There is so much more to say about this magical place and many more pictures, but for now I will leave you with a few shots of this one particular tree.

This tree was quite grand until recently. It was struck by lighting and then some aggressive winds knocked even more of it down. Nonetheless, I still found it intriguing that after all of that, it still stood at all.

This first shot is for Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness.

DSC_7272

And a couple different views in color from the boat.

Oh, one other interesting fact about this natural wonder. This is the location where they shot the first Tarzan and Creature from the Black Lagoon movies.

And the whole trip was a spontaneous idea from my wonderful boyfriend, who I gave a camera too as well. He took the shot below.

IMG_0025

I have to say, I was a little jealous. It is a great shot. Hmm. This man is full of surprises and wonderment. 🙂

 

14 thoughts on “Cypress. Regal Antiques of the Spring.

    1. I really need to read more about these trees. The info on the tour was fascinating. I can see why they made movies there. I will really have to go back in the spring when the water is clearer and a bring my super long lens.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I do hope to go back again and see a bit more of the grounds.It was a beautiful place. And there was so much wildlife! My boyfriend sure knows how to make me happy with surprise photo shoot locations:)

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

