AB Friday. From Soft Focus to Glowing.

In December I went to Barbados on a photography assignment (and some vacationing). Being at an all-inclusive resort, I cannot deny that I enjoyed a few rum punches (not will on my official paid assignment though of course).

So I will use that as my excuse on why this photo was lacking the level of focus I normally prefer. But, in honesty, it could of just been because I was walking around in a daze of happiness and photographing everything! Regardless, whether I was buzzed or careless, the result is the same – a photo lacking sharp focus. In other words, a trash photo or a for-the-family-photo-album-only photo.

B4 MLunato22 JAN

Instead of trashing the photo though, I decided to play around with it. I could try to sharpen the photo some but not really enough to create what I wanted. (If someone knows how to create impressive focus that was never there though, please speak up.)

The first step I took was to open the filter gallery in Photoshop CS5. I like the Paint Daubs filter so I tried that. Sometimes it works on photos, sometimes not. Of course, that is all a matter of opinion too since artsy edits are a matter of taste for each person. In this case, I screen shot below shows what the Paint Daub filter looks like when applied to my soft focus flower shot.

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 10.51.51 AM

The Paint Daub Filter is applied here.

To add another filter to the same photo, you click onto box icon that is the the left of the trash can icon in the bottom right of the screen. You can then select another filter and see how it looks on the photo alone and then, in combination with the first filter. In the shot below, this is what the Glowing Edges filter looks like on the photo by itself.

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 10.51.38 AM

The Glowing Edges Filter is applied here.

I am partial to the bold colors of the Glowing Edges filter, so I liked it. To give it a little more flair, I combined the two filters on the photography. Below is what both the filters look like on the photo.

Scenic818

With both filters merged.

What do you think? Have any other ideas?

Feel free to offer suggestions and critiques. I really don’t mind and love to hear the perspective of others.

If you are not part of the After Before Friday Forum or just want to see other AB posts, make sure you go check out Aperture64. Ben shows all the contributors’s after and before shot, to include a link to their posts.

after-before-friday-2015

 

4 thoughts on “AB Friday. From Soft Focus to Glowing.

Leave a Reply

