AB Friday. Making a Painting.

For this week’s After Before Forum, I wanted to make a painting with a picture. It doesn’t always work with all photos, so I try different techniques to see what steps can work. Different photos require different steps. I am still searching for more of a painted look, but for now, this one works on this photo.

Here is my original photo that I started with, which I like without editing too.

B4-MLunato

The first step was to apply the Paint Daubs filter in the filter gallery of Photoshop CS5. This is what it looked like when applied to the picture alone.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 10.07.05 PMThe next step was to add another filter. Multiple filters can be added when you click the square icon that is to the left of the trash can icon, which is in the bottom right of the screen shot above. These two icons will let you add or delete filter layers. When the eye icon is clicked, the combined filters blend in the preview to the left.

The shot below shows my second filter layer, Sprayed Strokes, but how it looks alone on the original photo.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 10.06.51 PM

The third filter I added was the Texturizer. I tried several other filters prior to this, but they just didn’t look right. You don’t have to deleted each layer attempt though. All you do is keep clicking on the filter boxes to the right of the preview screen until you find one you like. Whatever layer you have selected (which is the shaded layer on the right) is the that will change, or delete. In this case, I have the Texturizer filter clicked on with the two prior layers turned off. That way, you can see what that filter alone looks like.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 10.06.41 PM

Once all three filters are blended, the final edit looks like this. I like both the original and the edit versions of this photo. I have found this layering of filters can “save” a decent photo from the trash though. When I miss the impressive mark on focus for example, but the composition is good, I can mask my failure some by adding some technique to it. Some may call that cheating. I don’t. I can either trash the photo as blah or play with it and create art. And when it comes to photos, I can be a bit of a hoarder.

After MLunato

If you like seeing editing steps, make sure you check out the host of the After Before Friday Forum, Ben at Aperture64. He will show you his amazing editing, which is levels beyond my skill, as well as other bloggers’ before and after shots. Just click on the badge below for his AB Friday post this week. It’s worth the click.

after-before-friday-2015

6 thoughts on “AB Friday. Making a Painting.

Leave a Reply

