Week Three. One Four Challenge (February).

For Week Three, I wanted to enhance the turtle’s fierceness. I mean look at him. He just screams, I will get you….slowly.

FEB OriginalSM copy

Taking last week’s cinematic crop idea from Robyn, the host of the One Four Challenge, I had to crop and create. The first step was to take the original picture and paste it onto a “blank photo” with a rectangular shape. Like Robyn suggested, I cropped close to the top of the turtle’s shell. Even with this, there was blank information on the right side of the photo.

Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 6.30.48 AM

Let me go back a step though, for those you who don’t know how to create a “blank photo.” All you have to do is to go to the File tab in Photoshop CS5 and select New. Once you do that, a screen will pop up. This is where you select the features and size of your “blank photo.” In my choice above, I selected a rectangular shape that had a white fill. Hence, the space not covered up by dragging my turtle photo onto my blank canvas shows as white.

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 7.32.53 AM

Now, what do you do with this white space? Here is the great thing. You can do whatever you want. Say you are making a flyer, you can put in zoo information. Here is an idea that fills the white space with just a few black lines and some type. Basic version, but you get the idea.

zoo edit

Or you want to merge two photos together on top of each other or maybe into the same poster. Really, you have endless options.

For this week, I choose to fill the white space with photo information. I wanted to see if I could recreate the brick and the trees. The tree space is fairly easy since it is a random blur of leaves and light. The brick would require a little more time though, and I saw that as a challenge.

To do this, all you basically do is select an area with the clone stamp tool and paste in over to an area where you want it. I have found that a lower opacity and merging areas makes the cloned area look less fake. However, it really takes time and blending. I can do sand and trees and water pretty easy, but the more complex the subject, the more detail and time it requires. Below is a screen shot of one clones circle of leaves if that helps you get the idea.

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 7.58.48 AM

Anyway, so you just keep cloning and blending things until you fill the space. Below is my final product.

Week 3 edit

You can see the cloned area has a bit of a blur to it in some places and my brick line is a fairly irregular brick shape. So, I may need a bit more practice. But, for now, I was happy with the attempt considering the cloning material I had to work with.

To check out other submissions to the One Four Challenge, just search ‘onefor2016’ or ‘OneFourChallenge’ in the reader. And of course, make sure you check out Robyn’s page by clicking on her name above. Once I see her post for this week, I will update the badge below with her Week 3 post. You can also find her on Flickr as well. I started a Flickr test page, but for now, it is really just the same pictures you find on this blog…with just less words.

onefourchallenge-2016-badge

 

 

17 thoughts on “Week Three. One Four Challenge (February).

  1. I’m so glad you did this! He does look intimidating!!
    Thanks again for the walk through and your thoughts. There are always so many ways to do things in PS. I like you zoo flyer and the cloned image. A great week ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am too. I could use a bit more practice with cloning. So, I am not ready to recreate movie star faces onto other people’s bodies yet, or vice versa. I am always impressed when I see crazy skilled photoshoping. Right now I am trying to make a “flyer” for my son’s Eagle Scout ceremony and wish I had some mad skills.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Why thanks! I need to still do a lot of work on my Flickr page. I managed a work one years ago, but this is my first “personal” page. Hopefully, once I get a base of things in there, it will be easy to manage.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

