March. One Photo Focus.

Time for One Photo Focus, the March Edition! And the photo we are all editing this month is an image submitted by Nancy Merrill of nancy merrill photography.

small original

I wasn’t sure where I wanted to go with Nancy’s photo so I just decided to start and record where I went. With no goal in mind, I started playing with the filter gallery in Photoshop CS5. Below you can see that I settled on the Rough Pastels filter.

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 9.21.46 PM

After that, I made a copy of the filtered copy, and did an inverse of the picture. (CTRL I)Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 9.24.18 PM

My next step was to add a gaussian blur. Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 9.24.41 PM

Only because I tried this effect before, did I continue. Otherwise, I may have looked at the above shot and figured, I had just trashed a good photo.

In this screen shot below, you can see the results of applying a color dodge to the blurred photo above. Again, at first glance, it looks like my edits are not going well. But, I didn’t give up.

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 9.24.54 PM

I then opened the photo up in the HDR Toning option. I played with the settings, which you can see in the screen shot.

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 9.26.21 PM

After that, I just did a little more saturation and contrast work and got this final result.

1PF MLunato

What do you think? To me, it kind of looks like an illustration or comic design. It is certainly colorful.

To check out how others edited Nancy’s photo, click on the badge below. Stacy Fisher, the host of the One Photo Focus, shows you all the different edits on her blog, Visual Venturing.

I know I can’t wait to see what others did…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

abfriday-one-photo-focus

10 thoughts on “March. One Photo Focus.

    1. Thank you! Spelling out the details has really been helping me learn more. Sometimes I just play and get to an edit and then wonder….how did I just get that. Now, I am being more conscious of my paths.

      Like

Leave a Reply

