May~Week One. One Four Challenge.

The One Four Challenge for May has kicked off on Robyn’s page Captivate Me. The challenge, for those of you who are not familiar, is essentially to edit one photo four different ways over the month. Then, once a week, we post the edit here on WordPress for the months of May, August and November. However, if you want to play every month, Robyn is running the challenge every month on Flickr.

Anyway, let’s get on with the photo that I will be editing this month. Below is the unedited shot I decided to tweak in May.

Original Small

I actually really like the photo the way it is: warm colors, bokeh background and nice focus. So normally, I don’t think I would change much. I suppose that is what makes it a good photo for the challenge. It will make me try new things.

For week one, I thought I would start with some basics. I took the photo and applied the auto tone, color and contrast to see what the computer thought the photos should look like. Then I touched up the brightness and contrast. Sometimes the auto options really surprise. In this case, I was not impressed per say. It was just different.

1-4 May Week One

What do you think though? I personally like the warmer gold tones of the original. However, the auto colors do make the “flower” stand out a bit more from this colder looking background.

What would you recommend for the next edit? Feel free to offer honest opinions. I don’t get offended easily and frankly like feedback on different perspectives. I find it’s a great way to “see” another view I would otherwise miss.

To see Robyn’s Week One edit, just click on the badge below, and then join in on the fun.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

onefourchallenge-2016-badge.jpg

11 thoughts on “May~Week One. One Four Challenge.

Leave a Reply

