May. One Photo Focus.

It’s time for One Photo Focus, a challenge hosted by Stacy at Visual Venturing where several photographers edit the same picture.

This month’s “before” image was submitted by Julie Powell of Julie Powell Photography.

May 2016 One Photo Focus.jpg

The first thing I wanted to do was to add some clouds to the blue sky. I have been wanted to practice this so this was a perfect photo to do that with.

To do it, I took another photo I took that had clouds and basically cut the clouds out and put them on top of Julie’s photo. In the screen shot below you can see my photo with the clouds to the right. And you can see the layers I have: original (background) photo, the extra copy to play with (background copy) and the cloud layer (layer 1). If you look at those layers, you can see that I turned the opacity down to 50 percent on the cloud layer. This allowed me to place the cloud layer over Julie’s photo and size and move it to where I liked it best.

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 8.36.27 PM

After I positioned the clouds to wear I liked them, I played with the opacity and saturation some. Then, I merged all the layers together so I can apply the HDR Toning effect. You can see in the shot below how I pulled the curves and histogram around. I should note that before this, I desaturated the picture by nearly 50 percent.

The HDR effect allowed me to soften the details a touch, giving the photo a more dream like quality.

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 8.45.04 PM

After all the tweaking and adjusting, I came out with this final product.

May1pf Lunatojpg

What would you have done different? Any suggestions on how to make it better?

Now, make sure you click on the badge to go see Stacy’s edit on Julie’s photo as well as all the others who played this month. There are always interesting edits that make me wonder, “How did they do that?”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

abfriday-one-photo-focus

2 thoughts on “May. One Photo Focus.

Leave a Reply

