Week Three. One Four Challenge (August).

This week’s edit was an attempt at making an oil painting look. I started watching this tutorial, but then had to change directions. While watching the video, it became clear that I could not do all the steps since I did not have the oil painting filter. I tried to download the pixel bender option the video suggested, but my computer decided that I was not authorized to do that.

So rather than spending hours trying to figure this out and getting frustrated, I just played with some options when I could no longer do the video steps.

So here are the main steps in this edit (in Photoshop CS5):

  • Created two extra layers of the original.
  • Adjusted the first layer with the Monet look like in the video, which was then lowered to a 30 percent opacity.
  • Applied the Texturized and Dry Brush filters to the second layers, which was then lowered to a 65 percent opacity.

Screen Shot 2016-08-21 at 10.54.32 AM

  • Adjusted the contrast, brightness and tone of the original.

With all those main steps, this was the look I ended up with. Not exactly the oil painting look I wanted. However, it was still a good learning experience.

Week 3 A

Make sure you check out Robyn’s post on Captivate Me to see her edits and comments on the One Four Challenge that she host. You can also look for other bloggers’ edits by searching OneFour2016 in the reader.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

onefourchallenge-2016-badge

6 thoughts on “Week Three. One Four Challenge (August).

  1. I like the result you ended up with Michelle and wise to work within your limitations.
    I love Topaz Impressions – it’s wonderful! I’ve tried the trial and now it’s on my wish list. The conversion to AU makes it very expensive out here – for now 😉
    Nice effort!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Robyn. Yeah, I have been toying around with the idea of a new computer and new camera but seem to be stumped on what to buy. I’ve used both Windows/Mac and Canon/Nikkon. I like the both pretty equally. Then there is the software costs. I head Photoshop is all monthly now. Add this altogether and I think I might need to do this in phases.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is an expensive exercise for sure Michelle.
        Best to take your time researching and deciding. Doing it in phases sounds wise to me.
        The Creative Cloud subscription is a good option these days.
        Yep work within your circumstances 😃
        Have fun deciding!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

