Week Four. One Four Challenge (August).

For week four, I wanted to try a combination of things. Essentially, I wanted to create and “ad” for a painting store. The store information is made up and merely created for the fun of designing something different.

To create the ad, I first opened the original photo, and since I haven’t shown you that in the first three weeks, here it is now.

original

The first editing step I did was to adjust the levels in Photoshop CS5.

Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 4.15.34 PM

This made the colors a bit more true to what I recall and less blue.

After that, I adjusted the colors some more by using the Selective Color option under the Adjustments Tab.

Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 4.19.06 PM

If you look next to the Colors section, you can select the different colors to adjust in a dropdown box. Then, with each color you can increase or decrease the cyan, magenta, yellow or black. I adjusted the greens, cyans, blues, and neutrals.

I was going to leave it at that but decided to play more. So I opened up the Filter Gallery. In there, I applied three different filters: Ink Outlines, Colored Pencil, and Dark Strokes. When you add them together, the filters apply together onto the same picture layer. In the screen shot below, you can see the preview of the three filters on the left. On the right you can see that the Dark Strokes filter is highlighted, and the specific adjustments for that filter are shown above. If you want to adjust the other filters, you just select the filter layer like you would a layer of the picture itself in the other screen.

Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 4.24.57 PM

After playing a bit, I settled on this look and placed it on top of the original layer of the photo. I turned the opacity of the filtered layer down to 66 percent so that some of the colors of the original could shine through still.

Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 4.26.02 PM

I still wanted a bit more color, so I adjusted the saturation of the original layer some. And since the top filtered layer was only at 66 percent, the more vibrant color came through.

Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 4.26.28 PMAfter that, I created a new rectangular picture and filled it with a solid black box. Then, I put the edited picture on top of that black box, added some text and bam, you have a very simple advertisement.

week 4

Of course, if you were really creating an advertisement, you could tweak countless things from here: fonts, colors, information, borders. But for now, I really just wanted to show you the basics to get the idea.

As a reminder, here are the other three edits from this month:

Which edit do you like the best? Feel free to give suggestions too. I enjoy new ideas and suggestions and don’t get my feelings hurt easily. Honestly, new perspectives help me learn even more.

Make sure you click over to Robyn’s Week Four post too. She is the host of the One Four Challenge, which is on her blog, Captivate Me.

You can also search other bloggers submissions by using the tag OneFour2016 and OneFourChallenge.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

onefourchallenge-2016-badge

6 thoughts on “Week Four. One Four Challenge (August).

Leave a Reply

