Door. To the Past and Future.

Over the year, I regularly posted to the Thursday Doors Challenge, which is hosted by Norm 2.0. I wasn’t just a door challenge poster though, I became a full on door junkie. Now, everywhere I go, I look for doors. I notice them more. Then, I started to think about the history of the door. Did the door have a story? How long has it been here? Why did they chose this style?

The door fever has even effected my boyfriend. Now, he looks for doors and points them out to me as well.

So of course, on our recent trip to Jamaica, we both couldn’t help but notice this magnificent door that was tucked away in a little corner of the resort.

dsc_2817

When I noticed it, I just stopped and stared at it. I loved the details of it, the stone wall surrounding it, the greenery accenting it. It was perfect.

Since I was cameraless upon discovering it, I had to make a mental note. But of course, my boyfriend already knew that and announced, “We will have to come back up here to photograph that!” (Yes, he knows me well.)

Later in our trip, we returned with the camera so I could document this wonderful door for Norm’s Challenge. Unfortunately though, I picked a time when there were some shadows on the door. But hey, I had a vacation to enjoy so I had to work with the time I had and go back to life in the sun:)

If you look closely, the door has no knob. That is because the door led to nowhere, at least anymore. It had been filled in with stone. As I followed the wall, I could see a yard on the other side. It was clearly not part of the resort. But since the doorway was closed up, I assume it was at one time. Or, this area was part of the residence and then taken over by the resort. Either way, they made wonderful use of this space, which was in a corner peak of the resort. It was the perfect little corner of tranquility, and with a great view.

dsc_2847

Now, the fact that the door was all closed up made me think about the year ending, which is why I decided to post this door this week. The past is over and closed. There is no door knob for us to open the door of the past. We cannot go back. All we can do now is remember our past while we embrace our future. Our past, whether it was good or bad, is what forms our character, like a rock to build on. And ironically, this door too had a past it built on too…

As we went down to the lower level, I noticed an old stone doorway and some steps that led to the water. It is on the left side of the above picture where the trees are. It could not be seen from the beach and could have been easily missed. But I saw it in passing from the deck above and stopped.

dsc_2837

It looks like it has been there a good long while. But of course, it makes me wonder how long? When was it used? What was there before? Who used it? Was this door in used at the same time as the upper stone wall doorway? Or, was it different time periods? I will probably never know those answers, but at least you door enthusiasts can enjoy it with me and wonder.

Happy New Year to you all and may your next year be filled with wonderful doors and interesting stories. And may all those new doors you open in the new year be blessings that build an even stronger foundation for your future.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For Norm 2.0’s Thursday Door Challenge.

 

 

16 thoughts on “Door. To the Past and Future.

  1. That one is a beauty – what a wonderful find.
    It’s so much fun to share this hobby with others isn’t it? And even more fun to have loved ones who are willing to indulge us ans even participate 😀
    Our little doorscursion back in August was one of my door highlights of 2016 – thank you or that and for playing along with us each week!
    All the best to you and yours for 2017 Michelle xo 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was happy to find it for sure. And yes, it is even more fun when you can find loved ones and friends to play along with you:)

      Oh, I had a blast meeting you in Atlanta. I am really glad we made it happen! I will have to check out your door highlights. I’ve been scheduling posts here and there due to holiday and surgery recovery (nothing dire). So I am a bit behind on what all my blogging friends are up too.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Wouldn’t that be fun? I don’t know what it is called but I think it would be fun to have a superpower that shows you the stories of things you touch. Of course, you may not want to see them all as I am sure there would be some unpleasant ones here and there.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

