Doors. Views from a Small Town.

Last year, I showed you an old door military post office door. In the historic town of Warm Springs, there is a small block of shops. I’ve been up there a few times. It is certainly not a hub of activity, but they are trying to revive the area to its once known glory.

On one visit, I noticed a courtyard that was in the center of the block. All the back doors of the stores lining the roadside of the block where here. There were interesting indeed. However, you can tell that they were not widely used…or at all.

Among some neglected patch of grass, was another piece of art: a craving of two bears on an old tree. It truly was an impressive piece of artistry.

img_0005

I wish I had taken more photos of the disarray and aging items in the courtyard, but I was on a date after all. I was trying to not take 200 photos and make my boyfriend wait for me. So, I just snapped these few and got back to the present.

Oddly though, as we walked out of the courtyard, I couldn’t help but notice this view and irony of it. Our past is just that, over and gone. However, we have the present moment and our plans for the future. We should walk in those moments, truly embracing them for all their richness. Our steps and plans may be walking towards a plan for our future, but we are still there, in the present as we cannot see what is beyond the corner. And, according to Winston Churchill, this is exactly how we should all live.

It is always wise to look ahead, but difficult to look further than you can see.

~Winston Churchill~

img_0003

~~~~~~~~~~

For Norm 2.0’s Thursday Doors Challenge.

10 thoughts on “Doors. Views from a Small Town.

Leave a Reply

