Doors. The Small Town Gem.

There is something so appealing about red doors. The bold color just draws me in, compels me to look at them.

341A4478

So I did some Internet searching. And well, if it is on the Internet, it must be true, right? According to a variety of sites, here are some reasons for the common use of red doors on churches.

  • The red doors symbolize the blood of Christ, which is our entry into salvation. They also remind us of the blood of the martyrs, the seeds of the church.
  • I suspect that the red doors are much like academic gowns: since there is no authoritative source about what they symbolize, you can have fun finding your own meanings in them.
  • It is also said that a red door in the Lutheran Church harkens back to the time of Martin Luther, who posted his 95 Theses on the red doors of the Castle Church in Wittenberg, Germany—the crimson color symbolizes the church as part of the Reformation.
  • Red doors on Protestant churches indicate their roots in the Reformation.
  • The red doors of churches traditionally indicated a place of sanctuary, refuge, and safety. Those in need would not be captured or harm.
  • Red is also a reminder of the Passover and a sign of the Holy Spirit. Church doors began to be painted red as a way of remembering the ultimate sacrifice that others had made for their faith.ed inside the holy walls of the church, which offered physical and spiritual protection.

Many of the stated beliefs for the popular use of red doors are closely connected. So perhaps they are all right. Or maybe it really just matters what you think and feel as you look at them since beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and since someone’s relationship with God is so personal.

Whatever you believe the meaning behind red doors are, the point is that they are ascetically pleasing. And generally, when you find a red door, you will also find a church building full of bold character.  Take a look at this gem from an Ohio small town…

~~~~~~~~~~

For Norm 2.0’s Thursday Door Challenge. 

14 thoughts on “Doors. The Small Town Gem.

    1. Really? I was going to ask if stop lights were a problem, but I guess the position of the lights would help if the colors are not clear. That must be frustrating though. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Funny story; I was driving towards the bridge toll both and from afar the lane was clear until I got close and saw the toll booth light was red and it was closed so I drove as though I intended to go there and then merge to the open toll booth; the toll signal lights were mounted horizontally!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Great shots Michelle. I kinda like the fact that there seems to be no definitive answer to the red doors on churches question. Leaving it up to the individual to decide for themselves is just fine with me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m Lutheran. Red is the liturgical color that stands for the color of fire, the fire on Pentecost and thus the color of the Holy Spirit. It also represents the blood of the martyrs. It’s also a festive color. As this is the 500th anniversary of the Reformation, it’s especially appropriate to show Lutheran doors. 🙂 I tend to think all church doors should be red, as they look great.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Interesting Janet! I didn’t realize the anniversary. Good to know as I am in a military class and many of the various periods of conflict and war are being discussed. I am seriously lacking on my history!

      Like

Leave a comment