Time Travel. Ancient Stories and Doors

Last Thursday I mentioned a visit to Wakulla Springs and showed a grand back door.

This week, I wanted to display another door from there. This time, an elevator door that dates back 81 years ago.

Financier Edward Ball visited the Florida panhandle area in the 1920s and fell in love with it. By 1931, he bought some land to start his grand plan for the area around the natural spring. In 1935, construction on the lodge started, with Ball participating in nearly every design element. One detail to note is the art deco elevator.

12FEB

The original elevator catches your eye immediately. Honestly, it reminded me of an old movie. It had a glamorous, yet creepy feel to it. The interior of the elevator was just as impressive too.

 

“The interior of the elevator walls are walnut, with quarter sewn, face matched grain and marquetry panels—an inlay using varied colored woods. This is the only known surviving period Art Deco elevator still in use.”

My boyfriend and I walked around the lodge enjoying all these details. Unfortunately though, we didn’t know very much history on it. (Other than this was the location for the movies: The Creature from the Black Lagoon and the first Tarzan film.) I wish we had as it could of added even more awe to the trip, and pictures. And, I could have looked for certain elements mentioned on the history site. Nonetheless, it was an interesting trip to say the least. And so far, I have only showed you the lodge!

Outside, there is a natural spring that is home to ancient cypress trees and a plethora of wild life. However, that is for another post. But, I did share a couple of cypress pictures here already if your interested.

So more to come from Wakulla Springs, a place I am sure I will visit again. But for now, enjoy one more shot of the 1935 elevator, which according to our waitress, is just as haunted as the rest of the hotel…I may need to rethink another visit. I don’t like ghosts. But don’t all great historical places have squeaks and moans and grand stories? I suppose I better visit again to determine whether there are actual ghosts or just really rich stories about an aging building.

12FEB5

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For The Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Time.

&

Norm 2.0’s Thursday Door.

 

14 thoughts on “Time Travel. Ancient Stories and Doors

  1. I liked the wear and tear of so many hands rubbing the exterior doors as they helped to open…I am imagining that. 🙂 The inside is gorgeous with that inlaid wood, and beautiful motifs/designs.

    Wow, those movies take me back to my Saturday afternoon TV Creature Feature days of childhood.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s sad that a lot of buildings don’t have this much detail and character. I bet this was quite the place in its prime, and during the making of the movies…wow.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful interior! I remember elevators the had the metal grid doors and also had a man closing them and taking you up. That was almost before my time, but there were still some around.

    janet

    Like

    1. So true. The brassy metal doors with the port hole style windows were intimidating. Then you go in and there was a mix of more brass with glamorously polished wood with flowers. Interesting to say the least.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I really struggled getting a good shot of the exterior doors. I was technically challenged with the dark, so I settled for an average shot. Either way, I had to share since it was the most historic elevator I’ve ever been in. I was torn between its beauty and creepy metal interior cage-like door that violently slammed shut once the button was pushed. It made me think of an old horror movie and there was a split second of….um, what is happening?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment